The Tennessee Handgun Permit Course
The State of Tennessee requires this class before filing an application for a handgun carry permit. The permit is required to legally carry a loaded handgun on your person outside of your vehicle. As a student enrolled in the Tennessee Handgun Carry Class, you will learn about handgun nomenclature, function, operation, handgun safety, cleaning, storage, and the legal liabilities of carrying a handgun. You will also learn about carrying a handgun, ammunition malfunctions, and we will review loading and unloading, along with the fundamentals of handgun shooting. The state requires a passing score of 70% or higher on both the written and range test. There is no practice or warm up shooting. You must come prepared to shoot a total of 50 rounds from three distances. The successful completion of this course will enable the student to file an application with the state for a Handgun Carry Permit. Click here to learn more about Handgun Carry Permits in Tennessee.
Morrison Tactical Training takes pride in high quality and safe handgun permit training. We run this course as per the State of Tennessee guidelines. Our primary focus of this class is to instill in our students the proper knowledge, skill sets and mental attitude to carry a handgun legally in the State of Tennessee. Our handgun permit courses are usually taught on Saturdays beginning at 9 am. Our classroom is located at the GUN RACK in Kingsport at 2804 N. John B Dennis Hwy. If needed the GUN RACK has rental guns, ammunition and accessories on site. We appreciate your considering us and will do everything possible to provide you with a great training experience.
Classes fill up fast. Sign up by calling 423-817-5649 or by using the link below to pre-pay and lock in a seat.
Go to the state's website and apply for your Handgun Carry Permit at: https://dl.safety.tn.gov/_/
The state's system will issue you a confirmation number. Be sure you place this number in the form when booking your class on our site, and also bring your confirmation number with you to class. We need your confirmation number to report your scores to the state. After we report your scores your confirmation number becomes your certification number that you use to get your permit from the state.
This is an 8 hour class conducted in 1 day, rain or shine. The Tennessee Handgun Permit classes will begin at 9:00 am at the GUN RACK at 2804 John B Dennis Hwy in Kingsport. Please be on time to class!
You will need a quality handgun (The GUN RACK can rent them if you don't have one) and at least 50 rounds of quality ammunition. Book your class with Morrison Tactical to experience a handgun school with top-notch local instructors and facilities. Novice shooters are welcome, and we will teach you how to shoot. We cover detailed, real-life handgun training information and shoot more than other schools. You will leave with a summary of important information and the knowledge and skill to receive your TN Handgun permit with confidence.
Click here to learn more about the handgun carry permit related laws in Tennessee.
THE COST IS $90 FOR THE MOST COMPLETE AND DETAILED TN HANDGUN PERMIT COURSE IN THE AREA. BOOK YOUR CLASS ON OUR WEBSITE TO SECURE A SPOT FOR THIS PRICE!** THE COST TO BOOK ON SITE THE DAY OF THE COURSE IS $100. You will need a pistol in a self-defense caliber and at least 50 rounds of ammo and a learning attitude. You can send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org or call 423-817-5649 for directions.
**If there are less than 5 students in a class, there is a possibility that the class will be rescheduled to a different date. Service can be refused to anyone at the discretion of Morrison Tactical.
WE TEACH MORE, DEMONSTRATE MORE AND SHOOT MORE DURING THE TN HANDGUN PERMIT CLASS THAN OTHER SCHOOLS!
Defensive Pistol I Course
There are many defensive pistol instructional topics covered in this course. We will cover all topics, including: safe gun handling, basic principles of concealment, drawing your pistol from the holster, environmental awareness, body alarm response, combative midset and immediate action drills to clear stoppages. This course will provide more live fire training than you'll find in any other Tri-Cities pistol training course. Please click the link below to reserve your spot in our next Defensive Pistol Course today! The cost for this class is $150 per person and it is approximately a 6 hour course.
This is a ladies-only version of our Introductory Handgun Class.
This class is designed to provide ladies with a basic understanding of how to safely handle, function and shoot a handgun. Perfect for new or novice shooters, this is a low-stress, fun-oriented course that instills comfort and self confidence. Following a classroom lecture covering an assortment of topics, students participate in "dry" drills where they learn to safely handle and function their handgun before firing any shots. Students are then put through a series of live-fire drills where they practice all the topics covered in the classroom. students are provided handouts which summarize key points of the class.
Handgun parts and nomenclature, common types of handguns, pros & cons to different types of handguns, basic firearms safety, marksmanship fundamentals, practical dry drills, live-fire drills, gun care and maintenance.
One serviceable handgun (Handguns can be provided as part of the course). 50 rounds of ammunition